OZM|Symphony

The symphony orchestra of the Orchesterzentrum|NRW

OZM|Symphony, the symphony orchestra of the Orchesterzentrum|NRW, is the joint orchestra of the four music colleges of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia. It is composed of students from the colleges in Detmold, Düsseldorf, Essen and Cologne who are preparing for a career as an orchestral musician on the "Orchestral Playing" Master's study course. The young ensemble has no permanent members, but is reassembled for each phase of work.

Since 2007 OZM|Symphony has been a guest every semester at Dortmund Concert Hall. The aspiring orchestral musicians have already worked together with renowned conductors such as George Alexander Albrecht, Wolf-Dieter Hauschild, Cristóbal Halffter and Toshiyuki Kamioka.

The work phases with the OZM|Symphony are an important part of the "Orchestral Playing" Master's study course, which is unique in Europe and offered by the four music colleges of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia at Orchesterzentrum|NRW.

Orchestra Rules

Article 1 - Purpose

The symphony orchestra of the Orchesterzentrum|NRW serves the purpose of training the students in the Orchestral Master’s Program by preparing and performing concert programmes, and by working through audition pieces in an orchestral setting. Participation in the symphony orchestra of the Orchesterzentrum|NRW is mandatory for students of the "Orchestral Playing" Master's study course during all four semesters.

Article 2 - Compulsory Attendance

An attendance list is maintained for all rehearsals and concerts of the symphony orchestra of the Orchesterzentrum|NRW by the Artistic Administration Office. The orchestra members must be present 15 minutes before the start of rehearsals and 30 minutes before the start of a concert. Each orchestra member takes his or her seat five minutes before the appointed starting time.

If there is a compelling reason for not attending the rehearsals, the Artistic Administration Office (Tel.: +49 (0)231_725168-10) must be informed in good time. Doctors' notes and confirmations of participation in auditions are to be submitted. Leave of absence from individual rehearsals or parts of rehearsals can only be issued by the Artistic Director.

Unexcused absence will result in a written warning and exmatriculation in accordance with Article 12 paragraph 2 of the study regulations if the unexcused absence is repeated. Arriving late twice without a valid reason will result in the course attendance certificate not being issued. All other aspects of the attendance obligation are set forth in Article 8 paragraph 3 of the study regulations.

Article 3 - Course Attendance Certificates

Participation in accordance with the regulations in a work phase (rehearsals, concerts) of the symphony orchestra of the Orchesterzentrum|NRW is confirmed by a course attendance certificate which is issued by the administrative office after a check of the student's attendance at the end of the work phase.

Article 4 - Scheduling / Participants

At the beginning of each semester, the dates and programmes of the symphony orchestra of the Orchesterzentrum|NRW are announced for the coming semester by means of notices and on the Internet.

The students are assigned by the Artistic Director to the projects. Furthermore, they are obliged to inform themselves about the appointments and seating assignments by means of the notices and on the Internet.

Article 5 - Exemption

A temporary exemption from the obligation to participate in the orchestra can be issued by agreement with the Artistic Director.

Article 6 - Orchestra Spokespersons

The student representatives also act as the orchestra spokespersons.

Article 7 - Coming into effect

These regulations came into effect on November 1, 2009. They are published in an appropriate form at the Orchesterzentrum|NRW.

OZM|Symphony

Das Sinfonieorchester des Orchesterzentrum|NRW

OZM|Symphony, das Sinfonieorchester des Orchesterzentrum|NRW, ist ein gemeinsames Orchester der vier Musikhochschulen des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen. Es setzt sich aus Studierenden der Hochschulen in Detmold, Düsseldorf, Essen und Köln zusammen, die sich im Masterstudiengang "Orchesterspiel" auf eine Karriere als Orchestermusiker vorbereiten. Der junge Klangkörper hat keine feste Besetzung, sondern wird für jede Arbeitsphase neu zusammengesetzt.

Seit 2007 ist die OZM|Symphony jedes Semester zu Gast im Konzerthaus Dortmund. Dabei haben die angehenden Orchestermusiker bereits mit renommierten Dirigenten wie George Alexander Albrecht, Wolf-Dieter Hauschild, Cristóbal Halffter und Toshiyuki Kamioka zusammengearbeitet.

Die Arbeitsphasen mit der OZM|Symphony sind ein wichtiger Baustein des europaweit einzigartigen Masterstudiengangs "Orchesterspiel", den die vier Musikhochschulen des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen gemeinsam am Orchesterzentrum|NRW anbieten.

Orchesterregelung

§ 1 Zweck

Das Sinfonieorchester Orchesterzentrum|NRW dient der Ausbildung der Studierenden im Masterstudiengang "Orchesterspiel" durch das Erarbeiten und Aufführen von Konzertprogrammen, durch das Abhalten von Repertoireproben und durch das Erarbeiten von Probespielstellen im Orchesterverbund. Die Mitwirkung im Sinfonieorchester Orchesterzentrum|NRW ist für Studierende des Masterstudiengangs "Orchesterspiel" während aller vier Semester verpflichtend.

§ 2 Anwesenheitspflicht

Bei allen Terminen des Sinfonieorchesters Orchesterzentrum|NRW wird eine Anwesenheitsliste durch das Künstlerische Betriebsbüro geführt. Die Orchestermitglieder sind 15 Minuten vor Probenbeginn bzw. 30 Minuten vor Konzertbeginn anwesend. Fünf Minuten vor der angesetzten Zeit nimmt jedes Orchestermitglied seinen Platz ein.

Bei Vorliegen eines zwingenden Grundes für Probenversäumnis ist das Künstlerische Betriebsbüro (Tel.: 0231_725168-14) rechtzeitig zu informieren. Krankschreibungen sowie Teilnahmebestätigungen an Probespielen sind vorzulegen. Beurlaubungen von einzelnen Proben oder Teilen von Proben können nur vom Künstlerischen Leiter erteilt werden.

Unentschuldigtes Fernbleiben hat eine schriftliche Abmahnung, der Wiederholungsfall gemäß § 12 Abs. 2 der Studienordnung die Exmatrikulation zur Folge. Zweimalige unentschuldigte Verspätung hat die Nichterteilung des Testats zur Folge. Im Übrigen wird die Anwesenheitspflicht durch den § 8 Abs. 3 der Studienordnung geregelt.

§ 3 Testatregelung

Die ordnungsgemäße Teilnahme an einer Arbeitsphase (Proben, Konzerte) des Sinfonieorchesters Orchesterzentrum|NRW wird durch ein Testat bestätigt, das nach Prüfung der Anwesenheit am Ende einer Arbeitsphase vom Sekretariat erteilt wird.

§ 4 Terminplanung / Besetzung

Jeweils zu Beginn des Semesters werden Termine und Programme des Sinfonieorchesters Orchesterzentrum|NRW für das kommende Semester durch Aushang und im Internet bekannt gemacht.

Die Studierenden werden vom Künstlerischen Leiter für die Projekte eingeteilt. Außerdem sind sie verpflichtet, sich anhand der Aushänge und im Internet über Termine und Besetzungen zu informieren.

§ 5 Befreiung

Eine vorübergehende Befreiung von der Orchesterpflicht kann in Absprache mit dem Künstlerischen Leiter erteilt werden.

§ 6 Orchestersprecher

Als Orchestersprecher fungieren zugleich die Studentenvertreter.

§ 7 In-Kraft-Treten

Diese Regelung tritt am 1.11.2009 in Kraft. Sie wird in geeigneter Form im Orchesterzentrum|NRW veröffentlicht.